Payday Loan Laws in Virginia
Every state has different laws to govern the payday loans in that state. The Payday
Loan Laws in Virginia are quite favorable to borrowers. However, before
applying for a loan in this state or in any other state, consumers should look closely
at the laws so that they understand how the process will work.
It is important to note that payday loans are not availble in every state and laws
and regulations vary by state. Information for
Virginia Payday Loans is provided for your convenience.
The amount of the loan typically depends upon how much money the borrower earns,
but in Virginia, no one can borrow more than $500 in a single payday loan. In most
states, borrowers must pay this amount back on their next pay date. However, in
this state, borrowers are lucky because the lender must give them at least two pay
periods before the repayment is due. The interest that the lender can charge must
not exceed the equivalent of 36 percent annual interest plus a five dollar verification
fee plus 20 percent of the loan. For instance, on a loan of $100, the total amount
of interest that can be charged is $26.38. That is the sum of the five dollar verification
fee, the $20 which is 20% of the loan, and $1.38 which is the 36% annual interest
According to the Payday Loan Laws in Virginia, borrowers are only allowed
to take out one loan at a time. They are not allowed to renew their loan. Thus,
when the money is due, they must repay it. They cannot pay an extra fee to extend
the loan or refinance it.
If the borrower fails to pay back the loan, the lender can charge them some additional
fees. Typically most lenders will hold a post dated check for the loan's repayment.
If that check is returned to the lender and marked as insufficient funds, the lender
may charge the borrower a $25 insufficient funds fee. That fee is in addition to
any fees that the borrower's bank may charge them for bouncing the check. In order
to reclaim their money, the payday lender may take the borrower to court. Ultimately,
they may be able to force the borrower to cover the cost of their attorney fees.
However, those fees must be reasonable, and they must not exceed $250.
If a borrower feels that they have been treated unfairly by the payday lender or
by the collector if they forgot to repay their loan, they can submit a complaint.
Their complaints must be sent to the Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions which
is based out of Richmond, Virginia. They can be reached by mail at 1300 East Main
Street, Suite 800 Post Office Box 640 Richmond VA 23218. Alternatively, they may
be reached by phone at (804) 371-9657 or by fax at (804) 371-9416. All communications
should be directed to Susan E. Hancock.
When consumers need money fast, Virginia payday loans are one of the easiest types
of loans to get.
Take a look at the benefits of applying for Online Payday Loans
if availble in your state.
Rudi is a credit analyst who writes articles about credit scores, building credit, and consolidating debt. His know-how on poor credit and credit unions make his input invaluable to our company. There is no credit score out there that Rudi can’t help with.